PDA

View Full Version : A good warning sign of a DVD-R failing....

Carlos Garcia
14th September 2002, 22:52
I have noticed in the past that when a DVD-R disc is starting to fail, usually it will either start to skip, pixilate, or just not be recognized by a stand alone DVD player...that's the bad news...The good news is that when you see these signs, usually the disc can still be seen perfectly on your PC, which gives you plenty of time to buy a new blank media(brand name is preferable)and make a copy of the disc. I wonder why DVD players are just so sensitive to recordable media, while DVD drives are so forgiving!

CG

Ber60
15th September 2002, 00:14
I'm also interrested in these failings, perhaps there is a way to find out what's causing it eg. dye or others. A good start would be establishing what brand gave these errors or asking the manufacturer what the lifespan of his dvd-r's are. I have no experience "yet" with these failings, I hope will never have.

On the subject of DVD drives being so forgiving, I believe it has to do with the buffer size, giving them more time for error correcting.

Commander XJL
15th September 2002, 00:27
When mine started to fail, I tried ripping them back up to my computer right away and they wouldn't rip no matter what ripping app I used or what DVD drive I used (3 different ones), just nothing but read errors. Either you got lucky or I was unlucking about 8 times in a row. I know DVD Rom drives with PowerDVD are more forgiving when it comes to authoring errors, but they didn't forgive me for buying crap media.

alexnoe
15th September 2002, 15:35
Commander: If you use an LG 12x or LG 16x DVD-ROM, then this would explain your problem. These drives are crap for reading DVD-R(W).

Commander XJL
15th September 2002, 19:50
Nope, that wasn't it. Just unreadable disks at that point

rinkel
15th September 2002, 20:56