PDA

View Full Version : Opinions on the best DVD-R burner

br408408
11th September 2002, 01:04
Hi,
I have just received some unexpected money, so I am looking to buy a DVD-R burner. I have been making SVCD's for 3 years now, so I am not new to this, but i have not had the money for a DVD burner, (plus the cost of blank DVD-R's have just come down to a reasonable level) so I am not up to date on them. Any input on a burner would be appreciated. I have looked it this forum and saw much info on blank media, but not much on burners. Sorry if I have over looked anything.
Thanks for any imput you can give, Bill

thxtof
11th September 2002, 01:43
Pioneer A104 or A04. That's simply the best.

Taxidermista
11th September 2002, 03:25
Wait for the Sony DRU-500A. It could be the burner of the year. :)

alexnoe
11th September 2002, 17:45
I'd not say "could"...i'm pretty sure it will be.

Thwiipp
11th September 2002, 18:39
Does anyone know th eactual release date of the Sony DRU-500A, i gonna be getting a burner soon, i know it comes out in Oct. but early or late, will there be an OEM version to buy cause 350 is still to much, i can get the pioneer one for 250.

thxtof
11th September 2002, 18:52
Well the Sony looks pretty good, but it's going to be the 1st generation of x4 burner... We don't know how reliable this burner is going to be.

On the other side the Pioneer 104 is at it's 4th generation, extremely reliable and compatible with setop DVD players. Plus its price is unbeatable at 250$.

Also right now where can you buy x4 media ? It's going to be more expensive anyway and a nightmare to find a reliable media.

+R/+RW ? Well 99% of the setop players can only read back -R/-RW, so is it really worth it to pay the extra $ to get the double compatibility ? I guess it depends on the use of your burner. To back-up movies or make your own video the +R/+RW format does not really bring anything.