PDA

View Full Version : Intercoding in lossless video compression?

bullitB
11th April 2002, 03:32
I'm a bit new to the concepts of data compression, but something occured to me after looking at Huffyuv. It sounds to me like Huffyuv basically operates as a lossless MJPEG compressor would; it uses predictive coding followed by a modified-huffman entropy encoder. In other words, there is no temporal compression whatsoever. Now, it seems to me that for a given pixel in a frame of video, there is a higher correlation between it and the corresponding frame in the previous picture than the pixel or few pixels around it in its frame.

So, my question is basically this: Would it make sense, or would it even be possible, to make a lossless video codec that used some form of intercoding to produce relatively good compression ratios compared to current lossless compressors like Huffyuv or lossless MJPEG? I'm doing some work that requires a lossless intermediate format, so if this is possible, then I would be very interested.

gabest
11th April 2002, 04:10
Once I made such, but since it wasn't as effective as huffyuv I only released the LZW version (http://vobsub.edensrising.com/codecs/codecs.html). The intra frames were about 20-30% smaller.

-h
11th April 2002, 14:31
Cool, I was actually planning on forking XviD into a lossless codec (maybe even using PNG as the lossless step), and was interested in the kind of savings a motion estimation step would give us in a lossless codec.

Time is against me though :(

-h

bullitB
12th April 2002, 02:19