PDA

View Full Version : Help with AVCHD deinterlacing

bloodem
17th March 2010, 21:01
Hello guys! I just bought a new video camera (a Canon HF200) and once again I started playing with deinterlacing methods.
I'm recording at 1920 x 1080 / 50i / 24 Mbps

A few years ago I was using a great deinterlacing plugin which - I though at that time - was giving the best results. It was called MVBOB. It did a great job with deinterlacing and kept the motion smooth (while doubling framerate). Now I'm using MeGUI + AviSynth + x264 but unfortunately mvbob doesn't work anymore.
Is there some other, new plugin I could use to achieve the same "mvbob" results (good quality deinterlacing + smooth video)? I haven't done this in a while now, so I'm not up-to-date with the latest tools... Thanks!

bloodem
17th March 2010, 21:39
And after some research... the winner is.... TempGaussMC :)
Although... jeez I need an upgrade. My poor Core2Duo E7200 @ 3.8 GHz is really struggling to reach 1 FPS...

Atak_Snajpera
17th March 2010, 21:47
You better check plain Yadif. Quality is good but it is alot faster!

17th March 2010, 21:47
I like sbdeint() also.

LoRd_MuldeR
18th March 2010, 00:05
You better check plain Yadif. Quality is good but it is alot faster!

Yadif is my favorite "real time" deinterlacer, but it doesn't give "archiving quality" in my opinion.

I prefer YadifMod+NNEDI2 for encoding purpose. Can't compete with TempGaussMC in certain situations, but it's a bit faster and works very well for me most of the time ;)

Well, give it a try and decide yourself...

bloodem
18th March 2010, 06:26
Thanks guys! After I get home from work I'll give them a try. I'll let you know about my final decision. ;)

bloodem
18th March 2010, 09:06
I tried a simple script for sbdeint:

DirectShowSource("C:\test.mts")
sbdeint()

The result is pretty strange, I get a lot of stuttering during playback. Am I missing some special parameters for AVCHD?

nm
18th March 2010, 09:58