PDA

View Full Version : Unable to split an MP4 with Yamb


JHL
26th October 2009, 22:10
I have a 30 minute file that I need to split into two files.
I want to make the cut at 22:35.
I tried split by duration and it does nothing.
[13:45:11] : Murray's Tale.mp4 loaded....
[13:47:04] : Split Murray's Tale.mp4 each 22:35 ...
[13:47:04] : Command Line used for the splitting : "c:\program files (x86)\yamb\mp4box.exe" -split 81300 "C:\Users\John\iPod Video\MAY_S2_1\Murray's Tale.mp4"
[13:47:04] : Splitting complete.
[13:50:41] : Split each 22:35 ...
[13:50:41] : Command Line used for the splitting : "c:\program files (x86)\yamb\mp4box.exe" -split 81300 ""
[13:50:41] : Error creating file : Requested URL is not valid or cannot be found
[13:50:41] : Splitting failed.
[13:51:12] : Murray's Tale.mp4 loaded....
[13:51:18] : Split Murray's Tale.mp4 each 22:35 ...
[13:51:18] : Command Line used for the splitting : "c:\program files (x86)\yamb\mp4box.exe" -split 81300 "C:\Users\John\iPod Video\MAY_S2_1\Murray's Tale.mp4"
[13:51:18] : Splitting complete.
[13:52:30] : Yamb 2.0.0.8 closed.

I did not see any option for selecting a name for the new files (file1-->file2 and file3)

I read the sample about splitting (on the YAMB site) and tried using "0" and "00:22:35".
The log simply says "Splitting complete" and the elapsed time is zero seconds.

So what am I doing wrong?

MatLz
26th October 2009, 22:22
Hi. I don't know what you did wrong... An alternative: use mkvmerge to split and after that remux in a mp4.

JHL
26th October 2009, 23:39
There is some problem with the Yamb GUI not reporting any errors. When I repeated the command in a command window, I saw the problem.

phibertron
27th October 2009, 03:09
You could try mp4box, here are some examples of usage for splitting a file.

mp4box.exe -split time_sec
(splits in files of time_sec max duration)

mp4box.exe -split-size size
(splits in files of max filesize kB)

mp4box.exe -split-chunk S:E
(extracts a new file from Start to End in seconds)

roozhou
27th October 2009, 03:42
Try ffmpeg

Daemon404
27th October 2009, 05:23
My logic may be wrong here (since mp4box's syntax is weird), but aren't you find of missing and output filename?

phibertron
27th October 2009, 14:11
My logic may be wrong here (since mp4box's syntax is weird), but aren't you find of missing and output filename?


Actually i forgot to add the "input filename" in my example

So here is my example, of a video that is 00:08:54

mp4box.exe -split 120 test.m4v

This would auto create the output files names like this
(with each one being 120 seconds in length)

test_001.m4v
test_002.m4v
test_003.m4v
test_004.m4v
test_005.m4v

( the last one would be 00:01:04 in length)