PDA

View Full Version : Capture help

ttestpers
16th September 2001, 18:19
Hi,

I'm a newbie when it comes to video capture.. and I have a fundamental problem with capuring video itself. Please help me out!

When I use the capture mode in VirtualDub (1.4.5) I get perfect quality when it is set to "Overlay" when I capture from my digital sat-receiver via composite (thru scart). (I'm merely viewing the tv content om my computer screen). However, as soon as I begin to capture the video to disk and then play it back the quality is horrible with washed out colors, few colors, higher brightness, small horizontal lines all over the screen reminding me of some kind of interlacing and strange (slower?) framerate.

Actually, when I'm not capturing to disk and merely watching the video input on my scree, I get the *exactly* same effect (degradation) on screen if I change "Overlay" to "Preview" from the video menu.

PS. I'm using Asus 8200 Deluxe on Win2000 Sp2, VirtualDub set to 720x480 in UYVY (whatever that is? can't change it anyway..) and compression set to "No recompression: UYVY". The PC is a 1333 MHz with 2 IBM 60GXP in striped mode.

PS.2. Since the Asus 8200 only has s-video in I had to use a scart->s-video adapter. But I don't think this should be the problem since I'm using composite anyway and it looks correct in the Overlay mode.

any help appreciated!
Robin
ttestpers@hotmail.com

lukesvideo
17th September 2001, 04:35
Try reading some older threads here that talk about ASUS's horrible Windows 2000 drivers and ways to work around them.

Also make sure you have the latest version of DirectX and the video capture updates. Try using Huffyuv instead of uncompressed video. Check to see if the same problem occurs at lower resolutions. Try reinstalling your display driver. See if the same thing happens when you using ASUS's capture software (assuming there is one).

-Cart
www.geocities.com/lukesvideo/index.html (http://www.geocities.com/lukesvideo/index.html)

ttestpers