PDA

View Full Version : divx converter problem?


mike20021969
6th April 2009, 17:12
i use 2 widescreen camcorders: a jvc and a canon.
i use PIXELA ImageMixer 3 SE for SD to import the clips onto my laptop.
when viewing video files from either the jvc or canon in windows media player, the following properties for any of the camcorder clips are identical:

Media type : Video
Video size : 720x576.
Aspect Radio : 4:3 actual, 16:9 displayed

yet when i used DivX converter to resize them to 640x360 resolution, the jvc shows the resolution i choose, yet the canon ends up at 640x358.

using HandBrake retains the correct dimensions for both the jvc and canon video files after conversion.

now i know the 2 pixel difference doesn't seem like much, but it is annoying when this is happening.
it didn't use to do this so it is a bit of a mystery to me.

i've done a complete uninstall of the DivX software including leftover registry entries etc,reinstalled DivX yet the problem still remains.

anyone else have/had this problem and is there a solution.
i cant find any answers over at the dixv forums pages.

thanks.

peskypescado
9th April 2009, 21:18
Can you provide some more information on what format (AVI, MP4, MJPEG, etc) the videos from the Canon and JVC cameras are in?

Also, Have you tried contacting DivX support (http://support.divx.com/mydivx/productsupport?__submitted=1&productfamily=DivX+Converter) about this?

Dark Eiri
9th April 2009, 22:30
It's probably just cropped.

mike20021969
13th April 2009, 16:32
Also, Have you tried contacting DivX support (http://support.divx.com/mydivx/productsupport?__submitted=1&productfamily=DivX+Converter) about this?
DivX no longer support version 6.8 as i went there first.

Dark Eiri is correct.
for some reason,the MPEG2 video from the canon fs100 has a 2 pixel black bar across the top.

the way divx converter 6.8 seems to work is by resizing first,then cropping which is why the end resolution was 640x358 (it should crop then resize like what Handbrake does).
anyway,i got round it by adding 2 pixels to the resolution dimension (640x362),and when it had done it came out at 640x360.

(i imported a clip into handbrake and noticed it had to crop the image slightly before it resized it).

SeeMoreDigital
16th April 2009, 21:30
Personally I would have generated the MPEG-4 (DivX) encodes at 720x576 pixels (ie: the same as the source) and added 64:45 PAR (Aspect Ratio) signalling....

mike20021969
17th April 2009, 18:00
Personally I would have generated the MPEG-4 (DivX) encodes at 720x576 pixels (ie: the same as the source) and added 64:45 PAR (Aspect Ratio) signalling....
that's a bit beyond me.
how do you do that with divx converter?

plus,would youtube recognise this signalling when converting and show the video in 16x9?

thanks.

edit: i've just downloaded the mpeg4 modifier via you signature link.
i encoded an mpeg2 file to divx keeping the dimensions as the original and then using the mpeg4 modifier to set the aspect ratio to 16:9.
the new video still shows as 4:3.
then i noticed a note on the download page:
NOTE: Aspect ratio modification works by changing a flag in the VOL headers, which is ignored by most decoders.

isn't that a bit pointless then as there's no widescreen playback in windows media player?

kypec
18th April 2009, 14:58
NOTE: Aspect ratio modification works by changing a flag in the VOL headers, which is ignored by most decoders.

isn't that a bit pointless then as there's no widescreen playback in windows media player?
IMHO it's pointless to use such crappy player as WMP. Try some other which supports AR signaling properly. VLC, MPlayer, MPC-HC are only few coming to mind straight away...:p

SeeMoreDigital
18th April 2009, 21:55
Then i noticed a note on the download page:
NOTE: Aspect ratio modification works by changing a flag in the VOL headers, which is ignored by most decoders.

isn't that a bit pointless then as there's no widescreen playback in windows media player?Actually, nowadays most MPEG-4 video decoders support widescreen signalling detection, even in Windows Media Player...

Which video decoder is WMP using?

mike20021969
18th April 2009, 23:40
Which video decoder is WMP using?
for divx playback,the properties in windows media player (11) show video codec as ffdshow.

mike20021969
18th April 2009, 23:43
it's pointless to use such crappy player as WMPit does everything i've always needed it to. ie play music and watch video files,plus the program opens in about a second.

it's not worth changing to summat else just because it wont recognise a widescreen flag in a divx file.

SeeMoreDigital
19th April 2009, 00:09
Hmmmm....

Personally, I don't have any problems using FFdshow's with WMP, to correctly display encodes containing widescreen signalling.

Please use this sample (http://rapidshare.de/files/46801070/SDTV__PAL__-_720_1024_x576__N-VOPs_.avi.html) to check your settings.


Cheers

Sharc
19th April 2009, 10:38
@SMD:
AR test results using your sample here (thanks):
VLC ok
MPC/MPC-HC ok
SMPlayer ok
WMP11 nok, anamorphic distortion is not compensated. Properties tell:
- Video 720x576
- Asect Ratio unknown
- Videocodec: ffdshow

Edit:
When I modifiy the header (using MPEG4modifier) it looks as if WMP11 just ignores it, whereas the other players obey it ....

mike20021969
19th April 2009, 16:49
Hmmmm....

Personally, I don't have any problems using FFdshow's with WMP, to correctly display encodes containing widescreen signalling.

Please use this sample (http://rapidshare.de/files/46801070/SDTV__PAL__-_720_1024_x576__N-VOPs_.avi.html) to check your settings.


Cheers
it plays back showing an aspect ratio of 5:4,again using ffdshow.
what setting should i be checking by the way?
thanks.

SeeMoreDigital
19th April 2009, 17:21
I currently have "ffdshow_rev2844_2009-03-30.exe" installed, with "no options" checked/selected in the left hand sided pane: -

http://i39.tinypic.com/2yla90j.png


Cheers

Sharc
19th April 2009, 18:36
I guess it's the version which makes a difference.
I don't find the 2 selections
- use speedup tricks
- DVD decoding
in my ffdshow_rev2832-2009-03-28_clsid

Edit:
Installing ffdshow_rev2844-2009-03-30_xxl brought up the 2 tickboxes, but still WMP11 does not stretch the picture but leaves it anamorphic. Anyway, all other players which I tried are ok.

DigitAl56K
6th May 2009, 20:59
the way divx converter 6.8 seems to work is by resizing first,then cropping which is why the end resolution was 640x358

Actually Converter does crop then resize. I haven't checked the formulas personally, perhaps there is a rounding issue.

If you'd like to provide a small sample clip (<100MB) hit me up on PM and I can ask our developers to check it out :)

mike20021969
31st October 2009, 15:45
Actually Converter does crop then resize. I haven't checked the formulas personally, perhaps there is a rounding issue.




sorry for the late reply.
but i've found that divx resizes then crops - handbrake crops then resizes.

i rarely used camcorder now,but do have the same divx problem when archiving tv clips for personal use.

download the mpeg test file plus the divx and mpeg4 handbrake conversions using the link below.
there is a 5 second horizontally compressed 16x9 mpeg video clip @ 720x576 resolution which contains black borders (borders are not viewable on a tv).

i want to convert this to 16:9 for correct viewing aspect ratio and remove the black borders.
so i drop mpg file into divx converter v6.8,and alter resolution to 640x360.
after divx has converted,the black borders have gone,but the resolution is: 624x356.
doing the same clip using handbrake,again black borders have gone but resolution is: 640x360.

it's easy to see that handbrake cropped the black borders first then resized to 640x360.

you can download the clip and resulting conversions here in a zipped folder:
http://www.4shared.com/file/145147922/650ee0f3/mpeg_test_clip.html