PDA

View Full Version : blue-ray rip question

dimtim
23rd October 2008, 04:39
Hey I'm a complete newbie to blu-ray and hd rips, and my question is, how much can you compress one of those movies before it starts to look worse. I know that if you compress a regular dvd to mp4 it looks almost identical to the original movie at about half the file size. What would be a similar comparison for blu-ray generally speaking? What are typical encoded sizes?

Thanks
Tim

dat720
23rd October 2008, 08:08
About half is a good guideline, i have done all my BD's and HD's and the difference is so minute you can barely notice.

I use h264 with CRF set to between 18 and 22 depending on the length/genre of movie (there are other considerations but these 2 are my main)

Adub
23rd October 2008, 08:58
It depends on a lot of things. Varying from video codec to audio codec, to final resolution, to encode settings and so on. Sure you say half size. Are you compressing your audio as well? What settings are you using for you video codec? What video codec are you using?

The answer to a lot of these things is: Video codec=h.264, resolution=720p or 1080p, audio codec=ac3, video bitrate=varies, audio bitrate=448-640kbps. The factor that will have the most affect on size is your video resolution and video codec/bitrate selection.

If you want some answers to your questions, use search, do some reading, and then run some of your own tests.

dat720
23rd October 2008, 09:40
I'm with Merlin on this one, to find the quality vs size you are happy with you need to do some of your own trial and error.

Start with some base settings then tweak to suit..... you may want to test with a short section of a bluray as encoding is very slow!

I have a Q9550 and only manage to get about 12fps using h264 while encoding a 1080p movie!

RunningSkittle
23rd October 2008, 13:17
using directshowsource() ?

dimtim
24th October 2008, 01:37