View Full Version : Legitimate contest for ripping software
setarip_old
19th August 2008, 16:14
It's possible to win several "DVD Next Copy" (Home is Belize, S.A.) products at the Digital Digest Forum:
http://www.digital-digest.com/competition/dvdnextcopy.php
CruNcher
20th August 2008, 02:29
Ehh sorry but under "contest" i understand something different for me this looks like plain Advertising
blutach
20th August 2008, 03:08
No, it's a contest. If you win, it's a freebie.
Regards
CruNcher
20th August 2008, 04:24
And what is the contest/competition then about could somebody explain that maybe, if it has todo with the Product there it would be still Advertising ;)
I mean putting in a email and the price is a joke no contest/competition in my eyes, but maybe im thinking to much to understand what this is about :D
The Website owner (Company) could be more truthfull to his users and say "Win a Gift from our Sponsor now" or something like that but to hide and cover this as a contest/competition is strange
"Win software prizes from DVD neXt COPY, total prize value over $400" <- hmm on the other side it's called contest/competition really strange
we could argue about violation of rule 5, tough blutach has to decide about that :)
5) Do not spam. No blatant advertising.
blutach
20th August 2008, 05:57
These things seem to be quite common - for example: http://www.cdrlabs.com/forums/tmpgenc-dvd-author-giveaway-t24511.html
And there is plenty of notices in our News forum about updates to payware and freeware alike.
I really have no problem with this (nor interest in either product). If Doom9 does, he'll delete the thread.
Regards
setarip_old
20th August 2008, 07:23
@CruNcher
My post may have been less than clear to you, since it was edited by a mod, apparently before you saw it...
Shinigami-Sama
20th August 2008, 09:22
@CruNcher
My post may have been less than clear to you, since it was edited by a mod, apparently before you saw it...
wasn't it:
which seems odd since even discussing ripping isn't allowed over there...
anyways
interesting
but it does just look like advertising to me...
considering all you have to do is go to their site and grab the price listing to enter it...
blutach
20th August 2008, 13:30
which seems odd since even discussing ripping isn't allowed over there...
Seems to be some doubt as to whether this program actually rips - http://forum.digital-digest.com/showpost.php?p=563709&postcount=5 and http://www.dvdnextcopy.com/faq.aspx
Regards
LOCOENG
20th August 2008, 19:39
DVD Next Copy does not rip on it's own , but relies on an external application (machinist.dll) to do the ripping for it. This dll is not contained within the program itself.
CruNcher
20th August 2008, 19:41
Providing a function inside their programm to allow this special linked library to be loaded wouldn't stand a chance in court if that is the case
The movie you are trying to copy is encrypted. DVD neXt COPY can copy personally authored DVDs or movies which are not encrypted. If you wish to copy a movie which is encrypted, you'll also need to install a third party decrypter like the “machinist2.dll” to unlock the DVD. The “machinist2.dll” is a free program that operates in the background and decrypts the DVD while you copy.
The “machinist2.dll” is a Third Party PLUG-IN and is available for free on the internet. It can be located by using a search engine like Google.com or Yahoo.com and searching for the term “platinumripper” with no spaces in the word. You will see the site you need to go to under “Third Party PLUG-INS” at the top of the results page.
Also that they give out this info is at least under our new German Copyright law forbidden and illegal Advertising.
Btw isn't that the same company that bought the Shrinkto5 domain transcoding Engine (because their own was crap) ??
LOCOENG
20th August 2008, 20:11
They are actually the now defunct DVDxCopy reincarnate. I would assume that they did gobble up Shrinkto5 because if I remember correctly it too used the machinist2.dll as a deCSS tool.
blutach
21st August 2008, 02:07
I would assume that they did gobble up Shrinkto5 because if I remember correctly it too used the machinist2.dll as a deCSS tool.That it did, but I'm not sure they needed to buy anything as ShrinkTo5 just stopped development.
Regards
Ajax_Undone
21st August 2008, 02:35
Well if this contest is actually a contest then its easy to find the answer your looking for... *It doesn't make any sense to me* Oh well gave my bogie email and a blanker name...
I answered 100% correctly because all it takes is a quick browse to dvd next copys site to find out... If anything comes of it I will let you know...
setarip_old
21st August 2008, 09:08
@"CruNcher"The movie you are trying to copy is encrypted. DVD neXt COPY can copy personally authored DVDs or movies which are not encrypted.Perhaps you are quoting information from an older version - or, perhaps, the site's "FAQ", referred to by both you and "blutach", is simply out of date. The following quote is from the DVDNeXt Copy site at:
http://www.dvdnextcopy.com/company.aspx
There are constant changes to DVD equipment, movies, formats, etc. That is why we designed DVD neXt COPY to be updated frequently to meet the challenges of keeping up with the neXt DVD technology as it is released. With neXt Tech™, our software is constantly updated to work with the latest DVD burners and players and to identify and fix the next variations of bad sectors or DVD structures on the latest DVDs. This certainly sounds like it is capable of/intended to be used for decrypting commercial DVDs...
blutach
21st August 2008, 09:14
Well, admin at Digital Digest has closed the contest now. See here (http://forum.digital-digest.com/showpost.php?p=563754&postcount=7) for an explanation why (probably to do with ripping). So, Ajax_Undone, you might win!
Regards
Shinigami-Sama
21st August 2008, 09:21
I don't understand how they not know what a product does before putting it up for grabs...
other than the obvious...
Wombler
21st August 2008, 09:23
Well if this contest is actually a contest then its easy to find the answer your looking for... *It doesn't make any sense to me* Oh well gave my bogie email and a blanker name...
Possibly in an effort to harvest email addresses for marketing purposes so you're wise using a disposable address.
Wombler
setarip_old
21st August 2008, 09:28
Well, admin at Digital Digest has closed the contest now.This was probably a very wise move - before SONY felt obliged to take even more egregious legal steps (over and above the presently existing "Thou shall not discuss 'ripping' in any way) against that forum...
Dr.Khron
21st August 2008, 17:26
Ok, obviously I don't know what "ripping" means...
I thought that "ripping" = "decrypting", and we have an entire subforum dedicated to that.
Someone please explain?
setarip_old
21st August 2008, 18:26
@Dr.Khron
Hi!
You may have missed the fact that this thread is not about the Doom9 Forum.
It is about another forum, the "Digital Digest Forum", that SONY legally attacked and "crippled" about two years ago...
Ajax_Undone
21st August 2008, 23:42
Well, admin at Digital Digest has closed the contest now. See here (http://forum.digital-digest.com/showpost.php?p=563754&postcount=7) for an explanation why (probably to do with ripping). So, Ajax_Undone, you might win!
Regards
Here's me hopping :confused: lol...
vBulletin® v3.8.5, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.