PDA

View Full Version : ac3/divx playback

seņor pantalones
16th January 2002, 17:09
hello all,

this is my first time posting, so please bare (bear?) with me...

i'd encoded a few movies that i'd ripped with ac3 audio (using the doom9 guide) in the past year. i didn't have any hardware to play it back but was anticipating the day when i did. anyhow, for christmas i got (well i got myself) a set of 4.1 creative speakers and a soundblaster live 5.1 card. i figured this would do the trick.

much to my dismay, when i went to play my movies back i was unable to get discrete channels for the rear speakers. i've tried in both power dvd 4 and with the latest version of bsplayer.

now in either of those programs if i play the ac3 track by itself i do get 4 discrete channels... no problem. as well as with a normal dvd, i get 4 channels. so i know my hardware/software is capable of decoding the signal. what i don't understand is why it won't when it is interlaced with a divx avi file.

i played with all the settings for both players with no encouraging results.

what's the deal?

thanks in advance for any forthcoming advice.

ChristianHJW
19th January 2002, 14:13
Have you tried using PowerDivX 3.12 player from Doom9 and setting AC3 out to 'default WAV out' ? BSplayer is very good player, but sometimes PowerDivX works better for AC3 playback ..

seņor pantalones
19th January 2002, 21:02
thanks for the advice...

i'll try that tonight and keep my fingers crossed...

also - what exactly does the s/pdif option do - i thought that sent the digital signal out for a decoder (external) to deal with and then that sent the processed signal to the speakers... but with my 4.1 speaker set-up, sb live 5.1, and no decoder that i know of, i was able to get some sort of alright results...(what i really need is a test ac3 file that identifies all the channels so i can be dead sure)