PDA

View Full Version : DVD95Copy - Reason for concern?


setarip_old
24th June 2008, 01:17
I just tried accessing the DVD95Copy website and was greeted with the following:Notice

The URL you requested has generated an error notice. The account/domain may be suspended or terminated.

Try "refreshing" or "reloading" this webpage/file by clicking on the relevent button in your web browser.

If this doesn't work, then you could go back to the webpage you came from,
and let the Webmaster know about this.

Please Note: Zentek International provides offshore web hosting, dedicated servers, and colocation, and
is unrelated to the website you want to visit. Please do not email us questions regarding this website.Based on events regarding other decrypting programs, I wonder if there is a reason for concern.

If anyone has any firsthand information (not speculation), please be good enough to post it here...

Ajax_Undone
24th June 2008, 06:19
Dont Know but it was up on the 16th ""Jun 16, 2008 06:38:45 GMT"" Acording to google cache..
http://209.85.141.104/search?q=cache:cknHpv4ZKMUJ:www.dvd95copy.com/+DVD95Copy&hl=en&ct=clnk&cd=1&gl=us

Sucks if they are another victem of DCMA gone Wild...

Are there servers in Canada???

jwo62
28th June 2008, 01:41
I'm concerned.

the server is/was in china.

Ajax_Undone
28th June 2008, 04:58
Wonder why whats happening in china to cause the ISP to Drop there site

setarip_old
28th June 2008, 05:14
@jwo62

Even more puzzling is the fact that after seeing the "NOTICE", I emailed Digi at the support @ dvd95copy . com and, although I've not received an answer, it hasn't been returned to me as "Undeliverable"...

ron spencer
28th June 2008, 15:14
tool has been removed on videohelp page....can't find it...what was latest version

jwo62
28th June 2008, 15:48
@jwo62

Even more puzzling is the fact that after seeing the "NOTICE", I emailed Digi at the support @ dvd95copy . com and, although I've not received an answer, it hasn't been returned to me as "Undeliverable"...


same here

setarip_old
28th June 2008, 18:15
@ron spencer

Hi!tool has been removed on videohelp page....can't find it...what was latest versionAre you sure you're not thinking of another program? I ask because DVD95Copy is a commercial program that requires online activation for all versions, other than the time-limited demo version...

ron spencer
28th June 2008, 19:04
videohelp.com does have commercial apps on it for others to review....if you google: dvd95copy videohelp.com, you will get a search result of:

"DVD95CopyBut by far the easiest is DVD95Copy. One click and about fourty minutes later its completed. Thirty minutes to rip, ten minutes to burn. ...
www.videohelp.com/tools/DVD95Copy - 53k - Cached - Similar pages "

and I remember looking at this proggy through the videohelp.com website and not being interested due to the online activation. Now when I click on:

www.videohelp.com/tools/DVD95Copy

that page is gone!!!! Description, everything...used to be there.

I hope for those who bought it they did not pay too much due to the online activation cr*p, as they are now SOL...but maybe it will be back.

Sorry to pontificate, but I never buy stuff with online activation...ever. So many colleagues ripped off this way.

setarip_old
28th June 2008, 19:30
@ron spencerI hope for those who bought it they did not pay too much due to the online activation cr*p, as they are now SOLWhy is that? Those who were able to successfully pay for it online were also able to download it and activate online.

The present "mysterious" circumstances are not in any way impacted by online activation for purchasers. They have the most current version available. The obvious question at hand is whether there will be any future releases.

What should be kept in mind is that, regarding DVD95Copy, a similar situation occurred about two years ago - and a new website was created after an absence of a week or two...

jwo62
28th June 2008, 23:24
I didnt find out the web site was down until i tried to install the latest version. so i am without dvd95copy at this time.

setarip_old
28th June 2008, 23:29
so i am without dvd95copy at this time.Is there a reason you can't use the most recent version you did install? That version can likely properly process the vast majority of DVDs out there - all of those that were released prior to June and the vast majority of June releases...

ron spencer
29th June 2008, 01:54
@setarip....


if online activation meant for a specific machine, then yes you are SOL if you get a new machine, or re-install your OS..is this not the case?

setarip_old
29th June 2008, 03:36
@Ron Spencer

I'm neither a defender of, nor do I take offense at online registration of software that I've purchased.

if online activation meant for a specific machine, then yes you are SOL if you get a new machine, or re-install your OS..is this not the case?Under those VERY SPECIFIC AND NARROW circumstances, coinciding with the with the website going down, sure - and as I said before, regarding DVD95Copy SPECIFICALLY, the present "mysterious" circumstances are not in any way impacted by online activation for purchasers. They have the most current version available. The obvious question at hand is whether there will be any future releases.

jwo62
29th June 2008, 03:55
Is there a reason you can't use the most recent version you did install? That version can likely properly process the vast majority of DVDs out there - all of those that were released prior to June and the vast majority of June releases...

yes,i already installed the newest version,it uninstalls the old one.
I had downloaded it a couple weeks ago,didnt get around to installing it until a few days ago.

when i reinstall the old version,it still needs to be activated

setarip_old
29th June 2008, 04:31
@jwo62I had downloaded it a couple weeks ago,didnt get around to installing it until a few days ago.OOPS! - Sorry to hear that...(Of course, it wouldn't make you feel any better if I told you that with any downloaded software, I always immediately install it)

blutach
29th June 2008, 06:04
I hate rumours but this is starting to stink as bad as other dirty work by the MPAA where they come in, throw their weight around threatening legal action left, right and centre, which immediately kills the program stone dead and then they creep off in the night under the disguise of a confidentiality agreement, so the poor software developer is gagged to the hilt and can't even let his customers know what has happened.

I hope I am wrong about all of this.

I do note their forum (http://www.cdr-zone.com/forum/forum-28.html) is still up.

Regards

setarip_old
29th June 2008, 06:44
The forum is not part of the same website...

Ajax_Undone
29th June 2008, 08:35
The forum is not part of the same website...

Yes but with any luck you can contact the authors of the Program...:rolleyes:


By the way
http://www.cdr-zone.com/forum/post-46555.html#46555

Give it a little time Digi is changing web hosting providers this happens once a year or so.

Simple server change me thinks he should have purchased a new server hosting ground before he took down the last...

setarip_old
29th June 2008, 08:51
@Ajax_Undone

As far as the mod's statement, I don't take any comfort in it.

On the two prior occasions that did actually involve Digi searching for and establishing a new server, some of us were able to maintain regular communication with him - not so this time...

blutach
29th June 2008, 08:52
The forum is not part of the same website...
I am aware of that, but IIRC, the link to the official forum on the DVD95Copy site was to CDR Zone.

Regards

Ajax_Undone
29th June 2008, 08:55
@Ajax_Undone

As far as the mod's statement, I don't take any comfort in it.

On the two prior occasions that did actually involve Digi searching for and establishing a new server, some of us were able to maintain regular communication with him - not so this time...

I Suppose, but right now it is kind of a hard to call game. Maybe give him a month and lets see what happens in that time...

jwo62
6th July 2008, 17:31
Game over!

setarip_old
6th July 2008, 19:39
@jwo62Game over!Please clarify - and provide any details that you have...

jwo62
13th August 2008, 04:00
Good news ,Dvd95copy is back!:)

setarip_old
13th August 2008, 05:07
@jwo62

Other than the fact that the site is back up, do you have any direct confirmation from "Digi" that this is indeed the case?

jwo62
13th August 2008, 06:05
yes,i got an e-mail.

and i have succesfuly activated my copy.
i also downloaded my reg key so i dont get find myself in the same situation again.

sorry about my "game over post" i suspected my source for info was unreliable,(which now appears to be the case) so i didnt want to say any more.

setarip_old
13th August 2008, 06:08
yes,i got an e-mail.
and i have succesfuly activated my copy.
i also downloaded my reg key so i dont get find myself in the same situation again.That combination would appear to be proof positive - and that's wonderful!

Surprised I haven't heard from "Digi" yet...

jwo62
13th August 2008, 06:46
too bad you dont accept pms

setarip_old
13th August 2008, 06:53
I can wait ;>}

*EDIT* Didn't have to wait too long...