PDA

View Full Version : Subtitles w/ Godfather Trilogy Collection

Gerbopel
15th January 2002, 04:04
Hi. I'm new to DVD ripping, but I've been using the following method to great avail for my entire DVD collection so far (about 12 titles):

[latest versions of all software referenced]
cladMdec (take .VOBs to hard drive)
dvd2avi (convert .VOBs into an .AVI and .WAV file combo)
vdub (combine .WAV and .AVI to one .AVI)

- When converting to .AVI (w/ DVD2AVI), I'm using the DIVX 4.12 codec.

My system:
P3 1.8ghz
384MB RDRAM
Visiontek Geforce3 64MB
Pioneer DVD-116 (version 1.22 - original firmware)
75GB IBM Deskstar IDE
Windows XP Professional

That has worked perfectly for every single movie I have (all region 2). I haven't bothered with any subtitles, but they've all worked fine. I even ripped Scarface without a problem, and Alberto's lines in the movie are all in Italian, subtitled in English (within the default movie I guess) and those are copied properly (cause it's a part of the video I'm guessing).

However, now I'm trying to rip my copies of The Godfather 1, 2 and 3 and I'm having a REALLY hard time figuring out how to get the damn English subtitles going for the parts that are in Italian (which should be the default, like in Scarface).

I downloaded and installed Vobsub for Vdub and started using SmartRipper instead of cladMdec (so I can get the .ifo files as well). However, I have been unsuccessful so far. Whenever I try and index the subtitles (key searching goes fine) through Vobsub, I get an error message stating:

"Cannot read, either locked dvd or truncated/missing files!"

I've tried everything:

- ripping the full movie and selecting only one subtitle language from the top list (http://www.doom9.org/vobsub.htm 2nd picture from the bottom).

- ripping a single scene, selecting one (or all) of the subtitle languages and then selecting only the .vob files (id's) that I have in the directory.