PDA

View Full Version : Shrink DVD to 1 GB or less and retain 5.1 ???

CPYou
8th April 2008, 07:41
Greetings,

I am somewhat new to all this, but not a complete newbie. I have been backing up our DVD collection for the past year with no problems, but now that I am closing in on the 1TB mark or backups I would like to know how to shrink each one of these backups even more than the 4gb size they currently are. Now, I did have some success using AutoGK to shrink a few to a 1GB Xvid file that did in fact retain the 5.1 audio.

Now my question, is there a better way to be doing this? I just figured I would ask before backing up 1TB worth of movies only to find out that I had to start all over from scratch.

Thanks in advance for any and all help!

RememberTheFallen.com

Southstorm
8th April 2008, 11:30
For my needs, x264 is great. Try some of the GUI's listed here:
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=129748

CPYou
9th April 2008, 03:38
You would consider that a better method of doing the conversions I take it?

Why so?

Just trying to learn more about the differences in formats, thanks =)

fibbingbear
9th April 2008, 14:14
You would consider that a better method of doing the conversions I take it?

Why so?

Just trying to learn more about the differences in formats, thanks =)

In general, H.264 (or the open source equivalent, x264) is a more advanced codec than Xvid. It generally gets better compression, especially at lower bitrates (at higher bitrates, xvid and h.264 look about the same).

There are several things to consider:

1.) Xvid and DivX are basically the same these days. A lot of people consider them equivalent. They are nice because they have fast encoding times and fast decoding times --- it doesn't take too long to encode a movie, and you don't need a fast machine to play them back. However, if you try to go to low bitrates, they tend to noticeably degrade.