PDA

View Full Version : Some advice about Prevx and my DAudioK


Rockas
13th June 2007, 19:56
Hi there.
Maybe someone can help me with this.

Today, "surfing" the net i came up with this page:
http://spywarefiles.prevx.com/RRIFFI40409906/DAUDIOK.EXE.html

So... Prevx considers my little freeware application a threaten!?!?!?!
I know they haven't classified it yet as threaten but that's what will sound to the common user.

they base their "theory" on:

"# Runs other programs."
yes it runs as many other tools out there that launch cli applications.

"# Communicates with web sites using httpout protocols."
yes it does... as it is documented on the read me file, it connects to a TXT file (http://homepage.oniduo.pt/rockas/version.txt) to check is there is a new version available... user can disable the function on setup dialog.

"# Terminates processes."
yes it does... the same cli applications that it launches specially when users click the "abort" button.

Now... can someone tell me what i can do to make them remove that info from their site? How does this kind of stuff work on USA?

I'm sorry to bring this here, but i really feel bad with this... it's something I do on my free time as a hobby, no profit at all, on the contrary and now I have my name attached to such "dirty stuff" from some jerks that never checked what they put in public?

please forgive my english and thank you,
Rockas

setarip_old
13th June 2007, 21:43
Hi!can someone tell me what i can do to make them remove that info from their site?You haven't said whether you've done the most obvious thing to remedy this injustice - Have you emailed the people at "prevx"?

Rockas
14th June 2007, 00:03
I used the contact form from their site, still no answer.
Anyway... seems like they "marked" my soft since January?!?!?!
they have referenced at least the installer on January
The installer just downloads AviSynth if it is not present on the system but it asks the user if wants to!
They probably set DAudioK as "threat" at the same time... they only kept the record of the latest public release... now... from January until now they could not test the soft or ask me?
In the mean time, if you "google" for DAudioK you have the info on the first pages, that appear, that it is a "threat"!

Sorry... I probably may be over reacting at the eyes of you but this is one of those things that just hit you in the face when you don't expect at all.

thank you,
Rockas

Rockas
14th June 2007, 11:19
Oh! this is getting very interesting, now it is explained all that percentage data those Jerks put on their home page... some examples:

DVD Rebuilder (Possible threat)!:
http://spywarefiles.prevx.com/spywarefiles.asp?FXC=IGIF22466268
(as you can see the vendor is some strange guy but that doesn't keep those guys from using the name DVD-RB, even if they are possibly talking about a cracked or hacked version since DVD-RB executable and Installer, have their "vendors" perfectly identified and none is "sYzYgYs".

And again:
http://spywarefiles.prevx.com/RRIGIC41062606/dvd+rebuilder.html

DVD2SVCD (the same!):
http://spywarefiles.prevx.com/RRIGIA10889339/DVD2SVCD_.EXE.html

IFOEDIT (same!):
http://spywarefiles.prevx.com/spywarefiles.asp?FXC=IIII30560284

Well... just some examples... it's good to know that we have companies we can trust our security on!

honai
14th June 2007, 15:34
Well, is prevx.com really such a big player in the security market? Do they have a voice? Personally I never heard of them until now, and I'm not sure if any security software uses their data at all.

Rockas
14th June 2007, 16:58
Yes.. you are right... they mean nothing but we know how regular users think don't we?
if you google for DAudioK you will get on first page this:


DAUDIOK.EXE - Prevx1
Full details of DAUDIOK.EXE and how to remove spyware.
spywarefiles.prevx.com/RRIFFI40409906/DAUDIOK.EXE.html - 29k -
Supplemental Result - Cached - Similar pages

This can be enough for you to get the word spread out... "Rockas? oh yes! a guy that makes spywares!" even if people don't know anything about that company but you know... they sell their product so the must be trustful, right?

frankio
14th June 2007, 19:27
Prevx is an italian based security company.
I knew it when I had to fight with gromozon rootkit, they offered a free removal tool for download.
Anyway the link on your first post gives me a page where is clearly stated that your software is good so...

Yeah, I know it can be very annoying, but it's the result of a heuristic based on "AUTOMATED SOFTWARE PROFILE, ANALYSIS, REMOVAL AND SIGNATURE" tool, so chances of getting false positives are very high.
Seems to me like a very aggressive marketing campaign... :scared:
They could have done it better.

Rockas
14th June 2007, 20:21
Yes... thank god! they have changed the status of DAudioK Today!
Well... i spent the last 2 days pushing until i finally got an answer from them.