View Full Version : Another lesson in Greed by the Selling of DVD Shrink.
feedback
25th October 2006, 17:18
Yet again, some knuckleheads are selling the freeware app. DVD Shrink illegally thereby ripping people off.
"Lately, if you have checked Google ads or even googled Shrink, you would have seen the sites selling Shrink 2007 for a hefty fee.
I'd like the community to post ANY SITE they see SELLING Shrink and post the link here, People are getting ripped off left right and center".
Complete article located Here. (http://www.dvdshrink.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2307)
setarip_old
25th October 2006, 22:44
dvdshrink.org
Official Forum for DVDShrink"Official"???
nwg
26th October 2006, 00:58
I believe Digital Digest is regarded as the official forum. It is the forum that Mr DVD Shrink visited and posted on.
Unless someone can correct me, that DVD Shrink.org forum was set up as a fake when the real DVD Shrink website was not allowed to have DVD Shrink to download. The whole real website was copied. The donation link is a giveaway as the real DVD Shrink never accepted donations.
The same thing happened with DVD Decryptor and a fake DVD D forum was set up after it stopped development.
It took a while but here is the thread about it on DD. Also, the person named DVDShrink on the DVDShrink.org forums is not the real DVD Shrink. He stopped associating himself with it when the last version came out.
http://forum.digital-digest.com/showthread.php?t=62490&highlight=dvdshrink.org
Back to the software fakes. They are fake and I can see why people get misled as they are very convincing on the site.
feedback
26th October 2006, 03:00
"Official"???
"Grupo ATYC" it is not (they formerly hosted Shrink).
So it appears the scammers are complaining about scammers. A rather convoluted mess, it seems.
Still, at least the site in question is not attempting to sell freeware DVD Shrink.
Regards,
P.S.Thanks to nwg for the link to the DD thread that addresses some of the clandestine actions of the site in question...DVD Shrink.org.:sly:
nwg
26th October 2006, 03:13
Still, at least the site in question is not attempting to sell freeware DVD Shrink.
Regards,
I can understand someone asking for donations to keep a site up and running but, I still think it wrong to ask for donations when people will assume they are donating to the real DVD Shrink author.
feedback
26th October 2006, 03:47
@nwg
I agree with you.
Impersonating dvdshrink (the person) is underhanded.
As someone told me a long time ago..."don't believe everything you read and only half of what you hear".
IMO that goes double for web machinations.
Regards,
Chetwood
26th October 2006, 08:17
Grupo ATYC actually DID host the official Shrink (download) and spanish site back in the day till they were ordered by lawyers to stop doing so. They replaced the file with a link to Google.
During that time I was in contact with their webmaster offering him to host the file elsewhere and he was kinda interested but wanted to wait till all things with the lawyers were settled. Haven't heard of him ever since.
Then suddenly that moron showed up on DD impersonating dvdshrink but we dealt with him accordingly. Still I'm not sure it's necessarily him that's hosting the forum on .org now.
Allegedly dvdshrink is not working on Nero Recode anymore (assuming he ever did which he denied in his mails to me when I was working on the official german version of Shrink), still it would surprise me if he would have changed his mind to accept donations.
On the other hand I don't care that much cause all it'd take to clear things up would be be for dvdshrink to post a little statement on these issues on DD. Since he apparently can't be bothered to do so despite the still very large interest in his tool there's nothing much one can do except report violations of DVD Shrink's license to the Internet Fraud Complaint Center as suggested in the About window.
Maybe some of you guys will find the time to do it but I bet those scammers will try to talk their way out of it by claiming that you do not pay for DVD Shrink but for their "subscription services" or something.
I guess the Internet just reflects what's going on in society, there's greed on on side and the freeloaders on the other side with all else in between. Apparently 30000+ people where interested in my german version of Shrink, guess how many donations I received!
setarip_old
26th October 2006, 09:37
still it would surprise me if he would have changed his mind to accept donations.
Apparently 30000+ people where interested in my german version of Shrink, guess how many donations I received!I'm going to guess that you received just about as many donations as the program's author ;>}
BTW, are you referring to a German translation or the non-CSS version for German consumption?
nwg
26th October 2006, 11:02
I have seen seller on ebay selling Shrink. I have seen them saying that the program is freeware and the buyer is just paying for the privelage of getting it on a disc. They must have been expensive discs as the auctions were $10 each. I have even seen people pay as much as $50 for it.
Chetwood
26th October 2006, 15:49
BTW, are you referring to a German translation or the non-CSS version for German consumption?
I've done the official german version 3.2.0.16 which comes in two flavors: with and without DeCSS. There's an old language patch floating around which is poorly translated which is why I started my translation in the first place.
BTW, now that I got your attention setraip, would you mind getting in touch via PM? Thanks.
blutach
31st October 2006, 15:01
As someone told me a long time ago..."don't believe everything you read and only half of what you hear".I believe that was Marvin Gaye - "I Heard It Through the Gravevine" :D
Regards
vBulletin® v3.8.5, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.