PDA

View Full Version : Need help command-lining staxrip

theredbaron37
25th September 2006, 03:06
I posted this in the staxrip support forum, but I thought I'd ask the greater population too.
Hello,
I recently gave up on AutoGK because of it's lack of command line automation. I tried a script for it but it didn't work well. I really like StaxRip, especially the command line features. However, I am not very experienced with CL stuff and I was wondering if you wonderful folks could help me out. I use Gb-PVR to record TV shows in MPG-2 format. After each recording, a post-processing batch file is launched. The batch calls on a commercial skipping utility, a video cutter to cut them out, and a file renaming utility. I would like to add transcoding to XVid to the batch, and I'm afraid I'm not familiar enough with command lining to do it.

I've created two templates: one called sitcom that takes a 20-30 min show and converts to 175MB xvid avi, and another called drama that takes a 40-60 min show and converts to 350mb xvid avi. The way to tell if an mpg-2 falls into either category is that anything above 1.3GB will be considered drama, and anything below can be considered sitcom.

What I would like to do is have a batch/script (might need specific instructions) that does a few things:
1) Runs as one script until completion, so that batch items after the script is called don't run prematurely.
2) Decides what template to use for a file (based on the size requirements above)
3) Runs without user input
4) If an encoding is in progress, and another recording is completing in PVR, the new recording gets queued and encoded after the current one is complete.

I've looked at the command line stuff and so far came up with:

"C\Directory\StaxRip\StaxRip.exe" -t:drama -e %1