PDA

View Full Version : Korean Subtitles??


seoulsteve
18th December 2001, 16:15
is there a program that can do Korean subtitles?

prr
18th December 2001, 17:58
Create or show?

seoulsteve
19th December 2001, 02:34
both, i guess. i want to rip korean subtitles from a DVD (i guess that's the create part) and then put them in the encoded movie (the show part)

Schultz
19th December 2001, 03:55
well if you use VobSub to rip the Subtitles out of the DVD it should work just fine.. Since VobSub just rips the subtitile stream out of the dvd and actually don't deal with the text then it just renders and displays the image on the video. But if trying to use srt and korean subtitles i think you would need the unicode version which only works on Nt/2k/xp i belive.

gabest
19th December 2001, 12:57
Somebody sent me korean subtitles in smi format a few weeks ago, which weren't in unicode, instead he was using something called double-byte character set.

It looked like this:

<SYNC Start=14786><P Class=KRCC>
착륙 직전 마지막 기록이다
<SYNC Start=22335><P Class=KRCC>
우주선은 자동 시스템으로 운행 중이다
<SYNC Start=27685><P Class=KRCC>
모두들 깊은 잠에 빠졌고 나도 곧 잠들 예정이다

Chars were coded on either one or two bytes in this.

I have no idea how these files are created, but if this is common at that part of the world, you can use that coding with dvobsub in any other textual formats too. In the non-unicode version it will work only if you select Gulim/Hagul as the font.

seoulsteve
20th December 2001, 14:20
@schultz: yeah, my comp is English win2K (single byte = 8) with the Korean IME (double byte = 16) installed, but i can't get things to work.

@gabest: which program was your friend using to make his Korean subtitles? every subtitle file that i have seen in Korea has the extension .smi attached to it. is that extension from a specific program? I want it if it is!!! :p

thanks for all the help!

FrEEwilL
22nd December 2001, 13:43
@gabest, it was me :p
99% of kor subs circulating around here is smi format and i think all of them are created in the same way because some groups make and distribute them.
i noticed some bugs in v2.05.
1) when mode32fix is turn on, a rightmost character doesn't display correctly. half of a character goes hidden beyond the boundary of the screen.
i think this is related to something about wordwrap (?) alignment decision.
2) most of time, your coding works but in a few cases, it had still the same problem as in v2.04. broken characters as i reported before.
i tried to determine on what exact condition it occurs but couldn't find obvious reasons.
it just happened sometimes :( i suspect it is related to the resolutions. is there a possiblity that dvobsub is incompatible with avi's higher than 640x res
(or no larger than vcd res) ?

btw does dvobsub try to detect/search "gulim" as a string ? though i said so, actually the name itself of that font is written in korean.
can it be the cause ?

keep up good job. thx :D

FrEEwilL
22nd December 2001, 15:05
just knew 2.06 is out and tried it. it seems above mentioned bugs disappeared.
at least avi that didn't work before works with 2.06 :p
and i like "X2 if not bigger than" feature :) is it supposed to work with vcd MPG too ? it seems not.

gabest
22nd December 2001, 15:29
@gabest, it was me
LOL :-)
just knew 2.06 is out and tried it. it seems above mentioned bugs disappeared.
Which one? 1 or 2?
btw does dvobsub try to detect/search "gulim" as a string ? though i said so, actually the name itself of that font is written in korean.
can it be the cause ?
The user selects it on the font chooser dialog, but its name is written with latin chars in my windows anyway :)
is it supposed to work with vcd MPG too ? it seems not.
It should work with anything. I'll try a vcd after I finish my lunch :)

gabest
22nd December 2001, 15:56
Tried a vcd mpg with media player and it was ok. What player were you using?

FrEEwilL
22nd December 2001, 16:05
Which one? 1 or 2?
both.
word-based wordwrap will make it look better and easier to read. ;)

edit: i'm using wmp too. anyway i've found what's wrong.
it was ligos mpeg decoder. my system was configured so that
instead of default MS, ligos filter is used for mpeg.
it works nice with MS filter. :p