PDA

View Full Version : Is it okay to have mp2 and ac3 in a multi title dvd?


mutha trucka
11th May 2006, 12:48
I'm still new to this stuff. I am putting together 1 dvd out of 3 seperate dvd's. 2 of the titles have ac3 sound and 1 title as well as the menu I want to use have mp2 sound. Will this cause any problems? I don't see any reason why it would but I just want to make sure.

bigotti5
11th May 2006, 16:18
NTSC or PAL?

for NTSC mp2 is optional, ac3 is mandatory

for PAL mp2 and ac3 is mandatory

you will have to put ac3 and mp2 titles to different VTS

mpucoder
11th May 2006, 17:24
To clarify: to comply with the spec NTSC must have an AC3 or LPCM track if there is any audio, mp2 and dts may then be added if desired.
PAL must have an AC3, LPCM, or mp2 track and may then add dts.
But most NTSC players now play mp2 audio, and if this is for a non-commercial use using mp2 alone is OK.
Whether the titles need to be in seperate vts's is up to the authoring program, but it is still recommended as many players get confused.