PDA

View Full Version : A strange request via Sourceforge


IanB
1st March 2006, 14:28
I just received this request via Sourceforge, does anyone have experience with these peopleSehr geehrter Programmautor,

wir betreiben unter http://www.heise.de/software/
ein gut besuchtes Software-Verzeichnis. Einer unserer
Besucher hat uns auf Ihr Programm Avisynth
aufmerksam gemacht.

Gerne würden wir Ihr Programm in unser Verzeichnis
aufnehmen. Daher möchte ich Sie bitten Ihr Programm unter

http://www.heise.de/software/default.shtml?ad=af&v=2288

einzutragen.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen,

Ihr Software-Team

***

Dear Program Author,

At http://www.heise.de/software/, we keep a
popular software archive. One of our visitors
has recommended your program Avisynth.

In order to be able to include your program in our
archive, we would like to ask you to provide further
details to your program at

http://www.heise.de/software/default.shtml?ad=af&v=2288&lang=e

Yours,

the Software Team

Kika
1st March 2006, 14:35
Heise is the publishing house of one of germanies biggest Computermagazines - the "c't".

hanfrunz
1st March 2006, 16:14
Heise is the publishing house of one of germanies biggest Computermagazines - the "c't".

It is the biggest and the best magazine in germany :)

neuron2
1st March 2006, 18:13
I get those all the time. I always ignore them. If they want to pay me to visit their URL and fill in all the details, fine, but they can type as well as I can. My stuff is all GPL; that's all the permission they need.

Kika
2nd March 2006, 00:10
I guess they just want to be kind. In germany it is a normal behavior for (respectable) publishing houses to ask an author for the permission to use a program on a CD/DVD or a download site, not matter if the software is GPL or something else.

bond
4th March 2006, 14:49
heise is definitely high quality and also one of the best german news sites