PDA

View Full Version : Still no new GraphEdit


Atamido
18th December 2005, 04:34
The DirectX SDK (December 2005) was just released, and it still does not contain GraphEdit. It appears the last version of GraphEdit is still from a year and a half ago. Does anyone have any other information, or knowledge of someone making an opensource version of GraphEdit?

Doom9
18th December 2005, 09:51
Afaik, the whole DirectShow part has been moved to the Platform SDK back in July.. the DirectX SDK no longer contains any DirectShow parts.

Atamido
25th December 2005, 18:19
Ah, right you are. It didn't list DirectShow as one of the contained APIs for some reason.

The latest SDK has a graphedit built on December 12, 2005.

9.04.78.0000 - Build: 051209
196,808 bytes

This version is about 50KB smaller than the one from a year and a half ago. Do you think there were actual fixes, or just different compile options? The help file is the exact same size so it doesn't look like that was changed at all.

graphedit_051209.zip (http://files.commo.de/graphedit_051209.zip)

Atamido
26th January 2007, 19:10
I grabbed the Windows® Server 2003 R2 Platform SDK (http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyId=484269E2-3B89-47E3-8EB7-1F2BE6D7123A&displaylang=en) and grabbed the GraphEdit out of it. 9.04.78.0000 - Build: 060303
196,808 bytes Which looks to be identical to the GraphEdit included in the Doom9 download, except for the build date. 9.04.78.0000 - Build: 041201
196,808 bytes

Anyway, you can grab the latest version here (http://files.commo.de/graphedit_060303.zip).

However I noticed the lame_dshow.ax is pretty out of date. The recommended stable LAME right now is 3.97 final. The DirectShow version of this can be grabbed from here (http://files.commo.de/lame_dshow397.zip). It would be nice to get this filter updated instead of shipping one that is six years old.

jmnk
26th January 2007, 22:09
Would anyone happen to know how to create a graph manually that would render a url (on-line) file? I mean, if I want to insert "File Source (URL)" it prompts me to select a local file and I have no idea how to enter a url address.
Any pointers?

JohnnyMalaria
26th January 2007, 23:29
Would anyone happen to know how to create a graph manually that would render a url (on-line) file? I mean, if I want to insert "File Source (URL)" it prompts me to select a local file and I have no idea how to enter a url address.
Any pointers?

In pretty much any "File Open" dialog, you can enter a full URL - e.g,

"http://www.enosoft.net/products/enodvproc/RemoteDV.wmv"

Whether the filter supports the file or not, is another matter.

In this case, GraphEdit gave an error (but it did connect to the remote file).

BTW, the latest Windows SDK (renamed from Platform SDK) contains GraphEdit - same features/functions as before.

jmnk
26th January 2007, 23:56
OK. I must be missing something. Here's the link that works for sure
http://images.apple.com/movies/sony_pictures/thepursuitofhappyness/thepursuitofhappyness_h320.mov

- you can verify by doing (in GraphEdit) file->Render URL->type/paste the URL in "Select URL to Enter" prompt->graph builds->press play->trailer plays.

Now I want to build the exactly same graph manually. If I select "File Source" filter (select any of the ones under Graph->Insert Filters->DirectShow Filters->File Source (URL), press 'Insert Filter') I get a prompt 'Select an input file for this filter to use' with a normal ms 'file open' window. If I type in/paste the string listed above, it results in an error - file name is invalid. If I click 'Cancel' the filter box appears in the graph - but there are no pins to connect to, nor can I tell it what the file source is.
So what am I missing?

foxyshadis
27th January 2007, 02:32
Actually, if you open a url in the windows standard open dialog like that, what you're doing is downloading it via IE, and opening the copy from temporary internet files. Thus you're actually rendering a local file. (I don't know how to render an actual url, unless you have to render an asx playlist.)

btw, I think the only GUI difference between the old versions of graphedit and the newer ones is the removal of Save XML Graph, but I don't know which it was removed in.

jeffy
27th January 2007, 10:23
I grabbed the Windows® Server 2003 R2 Platform SDK (http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyId=484269E2-3B89-47E3-8EB7-1F2BE6D7123A&displaylang=en) and grabbed the GraphEdit out of it. Which looks to be identical to the GraphEdit included in the Doom9 download, except for the build date.

Anyway, you can grab the latest version here (http://files.commo.de/graphedit_060303.zip).

However I noticed the lame_dshow.ax is pretty out of date. The recommended stable LAME right now is 3.97 final. The DirectShow version of this can be grabbed from here (http://files.commo.de/lame_dshow397.zip). It would be nice to get this filter updated instead of shipping one that is six years old.

- graphedit.chm
- graphedt.exe
These two files are binary identical in both zip files
The only file added is proppage.dll.

Atamido
27th January 2007, 20:26
BTW, the latest Windows SDK (renamed from Platform SDK) contains GraphEdit - same features/functions as before.

Yeah, the latest files are available here (http://files.commo.de/graphedit_061030.zip).

DirectX 10.0 - Build: 061030
212,992 bytes

I didn't try before because I thought there might be a problem with a GraphEdit built for Vista and DX10, but it seems to work fine. The help file is probably identical, but the graphedt.exe and proppage.dll are at least different sizes.

ShutUp
6th November 2007, 15:03
GraphEdit DX9 v040709
GraphEdit DX9 v060603
GraphEdit DX10 v061030

Here (http://www.sendspace.com/file/ie1zfl) (1,5 Mb)

zambelli
9th November 2007, 10:13
One thing that the Vista GraphEdit version CAN do that the older ones can't is support EVR.

Atamido
11th August 2009, 05:53
For those running Windows 7, there is a final version of the Windows SDK out that has a newer version of GraphEdit. Download the"
Windows SDK for Windows 7 and .NET Framework 3.5 Service Pack 1
The only think you need to check to install is:
Win32 Development Tools
The default install location for GraphEdit is:
C:\Program Files\Microsoft SDKs\Windows\v7.0\Bin\
and/or with ...\x64\ on the end of that path. The version is:
DirectX 10.0 - Build: 090714

kidjan
15th August 2009, 00:18
I don't have a Win7 dev box setup yet, but does it look like it has any new features compared to old versions? Or basically the same old graphedit?

Biggiesized
27th July 2010, 06:15
There is a newer Windows SDK for Windows 7. This one requires that .NET Framework 4 be installed.

I don't know if the GraphEdit included is newer than 090714.

betaking
27th July 2010, 07:13
last build is GraphEdt 10.0 - Build: 100513 form windows sdk7.1!

Biggiesized
27th July 2010, 19:58
Yep, you're right. I just installed it myself.

EDIT: Here's the link: Microsoft Windows SDK for Windows 7 and .NET Framework 4 (http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?familyid=6B6C21D2-2006-4AFA-9702-529FA782D63B&displaylang=en)

GraphEdit can be installed by selecting the Tools checkbox under Windows Native Code Development.